Common Honeysuckle in a pot

I wanted to pick a tree that I can observe at any day time – this excluded the trees on my way to work. There are lots of trees close to the river but I just couldn’t decide on one. And so I have decided on the Common Honeysuckle  growing in a pot on our balcony. It is not really a tree, rather a shrub but it has proven its biodiversity in the last years: bugs and moths, beautiful flowers, hemp and sunflowers growing because of the bird seed.

I got this European or Common Honeysuckle (Lonicera periclymenum – Wald-Geissblatt) as a present more than ten years ago. It once stayed with friends who hat a balcony with more sun but it’s been back with me for at least five years. It is from a Swiss forest so no exotic plant.

Well I think this is going to be an other interesting journey for this plant and me.

Bad photo on a gray January day

This entry was posted in contributors and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Common Honeysuckle in a pot

  1. Kip Kozlowski says:

    Great idea!

  2. Flighty says:

    A good choice! It may not look much now but I’m sure that come the summer it will be wonderful and have a lovely fragrance. xx

Leave a Reply

